Welcome to Food Trail!

Hi!

Welcome to my very first post on my new blog “Food Trail”.

This is a web site for anyone and everyone who loves cooking and eating food! 

Although my background is predominantly in Asian cooking, I enjoy trying new things and eating just about anything and everything as long as it tastes good!  It doesn’t have to be fancy, in fact I think some of the best tasting food is the simplest – but made with really fresh ingredients.

Maybe we can use this forum to talk about your recent eating experiences, restaurants, information about new and emerging local suppliers, and recipes, or just have a general chit chat…!

Anyway, I’d like to encourage you to get involved and perhaps by sharing our thoughts and ideas we can all benefit from each other’s knowledge and experience and have some fun at the same time!

36 responses to “Welcome to Food Trail!

  1. Congratulations Noods.

    Can I request spicey shredded beef for tonight’s dinner??

    Thank queues.

  2. Hiya

    What a coincidence – last night the boyf and I were at dinner with a friend and we thought that he should have a blog dedicated to reviewing restaurants for vegetarian food (not vege restaurants).

    Fancy a co-author?

    • Thanks Joni. There are several blogs of restaurant review and critics at the moment. I am more interested in sharing food and ideas with other food lovers, and places that I have been, seen and tasted. Also, there are not that many restaurants in Tasmania. There is only a handful worth eating at. But thanks for the suggestion. Thanks for checking out my blog and for your comments.

  3. I’m a lousy cook only being able to muster up a couple of staples to any degree of decency.

    I discovered Taste a while ago and that has encouraged me to be a little more adventurous, mostly to failure.

    At work at least once a week someone brings in home made cake, muffins, pie etc. and I felt left out, so using Taste started making some stuff to bring to work, and they have become a minor hit. So far I have made white choccy chip muffins and cappuccino muffins, but have not gotten more adventurous since perfecting them.

    Looking forward to reading what comes up here and if you can have a section for dumb haven’t got much time cooks who are away a lot then I might be motivated to try something outside my comfort zone, which is a very narrow zone by the way.

    • Hi Mobius – even the simplest food is some time the tastiest, like free range eggs poached on fresh sourdough bread. You can’t beat it. I think the trick is always use the freshest produce you can find and not overpowering the flavor of the produce.

  4. I was just thinking the same thing Foodtrail when I saw your reply on the other thread. Cooking recently has to me become too overpowering re spices.

    I can understand the ‘why’ re traditional Indian cooking and love these flavors but no excuses for overpowering the taste of the fresh food that we have in Australia.

    • It depends on how the fresh produce is being cooked. If it is curry, I love the curry to have a nice depth of complexity and be able to taste a multitude of spices. The spices have to be freshly made, not from a packet or jar.

      On a previous trip to Penang, one of my favorite restaurant is called Bali Hai, which is a chinese-thai style of cooking. Mainly fresh seafood that you picked from the tanks. This dish is a deep fried red snapper (fresh from the tank) dressed in a nice tangy, spicy and sour sauce of young green mango, lots of coriander (yeap, coriander in a different way), chillies, ginger, shallots and tamarind. I can taste the delicate fresh fish with an exciting flavor of hot, sour and sweetness in the dish.

  5. wah..!! 161 hits already one!

  6. Ah Penang, I used to stay at the Swiss Hotel around Chulia Street somewhere and the sate’ was to kill for!

    I used to do a great sauce but over the years lost the memory of the ingredients, tried making it a month ago but it was not quite right.

    I have never found a restaurant in Australia that does it the same as Malaya but I’m sure I will find it one day…most probably the day before I die.

  7. Victor..my youngest is a vegetarian and a fussy one at that but loves Indian and Thai cooking..the hotter the better. I hope that you are available for advice the next time that she is home from Brisbane 🙂

    I love the sound of that..but find a lot of the problem is finding fresh ingredients. We’re near Tweed Heads and the choice of shopping consists of either Coles or Woolies. I was spoilt when we lived at Billinudgel (north of Byron Bay) as there was an excellent butcher at Mullumbimby and Santos Organic Foods plus a weekly farmer’s market.

    • I have similar problem here in Tasmania for fresh Asian produce. Fortunately some places sell fresh turmeric and galangal (which you can’t find in Coles or Woolies). Other fresh ingredients I grow them in my greenhouse (lemongrass, curry leaves, kaffir lime leaves, red chillies). It is nothing like shopping in a wet market which still exists in Penang.

      • Victor, can you recommend a site for Malaysian cooking? I plead guilty to not having attempted this but would love to learn.

  8. This is a good Malaysian recipe website, http://www.kuali.com

  9. Thank you, looks wonderful! Have a wonderful evening.

  10. Congrats Victor! Bless this blog & all who sail in her!
    Nice photo at the top BTW!
    Steve

  11. Guten tag Victor.

    Congrats on the new blog.
    I enjoy food as much as the next man.

    My best suggestion is sprinklings of sweaty groin lint as a well hidden garnish in your partner’s favourite dishes.

  12. I spent a month in Sibu (Sarawak) at the end of year 11 with a schoolmate & was priveleged to enjoy multitudes of fine Malaysian food as a consequence.

    If you can offer that sort of stuff I’ll be recommending your expertise to my beloved scullion.

  13. Hi Victor,

    I was going to post this on Blogocrats today, but then Reb posted a link to your blog …

    Last night I made myself a big pot of mushroom soup and it was “very nahce”. I share wif youse (I’m not pedantic about measurements – adjust to whatever suits your taste) …

    Chop up an onion and smash a few cloves of garlic. Splash a tablespoon or two of olive oil in a deep casserole dish and add a generous chunk of butter and bring to the bubble. Fry the onion gently until it’s soft, then add the garlic and about 800kg of sliced mixed mushrooms, some sea salt and pepper and cook for about 5 minutes or so (until the mushrooms shrink down a bit). Add a couple tablespoons of tomato paste and a tablespoon of fresh thyme and a litre of chicken stock. Simmer gently for about 20 minutes or so. Toward the end, add a couple tablespoons of thick cream or sour cream, sprinkle some paprika over and mix it up, simmer for another 5 minutes or so. Add a small fistful of chopped up flat parsley.

    Eat.

    You know those big enamelled cast-iron casserole pots? The ones made in France that are either blue or red? They’re very bloody expensive. I bought one about 20 years ago, and it’s one of the best investments I ever made. They’ll last several lifetimes.

    And there’s a really good food site here –

    http://aweebitofcooking.co.uk/

    • Thanks, Ross. I never use measuring cups or spoons as well. Makes cooking more interesting and exciting. Always taste the food before serving, and will never go wrong. That is how I have learnt from watching my mum in the kitchen.

      Did you really mean 800kg of mushrooms? That is a lot. How long did it take you to slice them? I have done kilos of onions, potatoes, garlics for a curry dish at the Taste of Huon (an annual food and wine festival promoting local produce, culture and art) in the Huon Valley. That was really hard work.

  14. Ross..love it. You did mention garlic and mushrooms didn’t you?

    Here is my effort and something that I am working on today, it’s a combo of a couple of recipes..given that partner is half Italian, it just has to be wog food.

    Meatballs: lean beef, grated onion, a little fresh breadcrumbs, parsley, egg, pepper (I never add extra salt)..all normal so far.. but throw in finely grated rind of 1/2 a young lemon, that is a tangy one, straight off the tree preferably [me thinks that acid aka lemon counteracts of the often too oily taste of many Italian pasta dishes].

    Sauce is..anything traditional Italian, choose your favorite. I like chopped onion, garlic (of course), tomatoes (fresh blanched and chopped..vine ripened of course..and the subject of TOMATOES is a subject unto itself!), a little red wine (from Miglo’s cellar), basil, oregano and a little sugar to sweeten.

    Serve over either spag or top over toasted or bbq’d panini or turkish bread slices.

    • Min, I made meatball and bean casseroley thing the other week – I find if you use a mixture of pork and veal mince you get a really nice, light meatball.

  15. Ross..noo, sorry no pork. I’ve never got over someone mentioning that pork tastes the same as human.

    • Try lamb.

      I’ve never tasted a human. I would’ve thought they’d taste like chicken. Everything tastes like chicken at some point.

    • “pork tastes the same as human”

      Hmmm..I use minced pork in a few dishes, like making pork and prawn dumpling. Fortunately I don’t know what human tastes like. I hope I will never live to find this out, Eee Yuk.

  16. Frog has a very delicate chicken flavor. And turtle is quite nice too..a bit tangier than frog and not as bland as plain chicken..just my taste.

    Re turtle, this is eons ago ’75 when hubby and I were in Kuala Lumpur..a beautiful restaurant very very mellow. A beautiful turtle soup. It was just a broth and a little meat..green (very green) in color.

    Am thinking that we’ve got so used to the over the top American style fast food flavors, mega salt that it will need some re-education in order to appreciate natural flavors.

    Re pork/human..this decription was courtesy of youngest who is a vegetarian. She might have said this deliberately.

    • Min, I am not sure I have tasted turtle in Malaysia before. Green – must be poor Green Turtle from the East Coast. They are meant to be protected or endangered.

      But frogs definitely. They are delicious especially the little legs! Tee Hee. Like Ross said, everything tasted like chicken after a while. That is true with frog legs, except more tender and only need one bite.

  17. I’ll hang around untill someones wants to taste camel, then…..

    But before you do Duck tastes better, eat the duck.

    Interesting Twiter pic’s Victor

  18. Aqua, have alerted the duck. Check your email, have written.

    Sorry, camel is too tough and stringy and often has nasty coral growths.

    Victor..Aqua is a sweet and squishy camel and the duck is Miglo, who is likewise sweet and squishy.

    Anyway..back to business. This was in ’75..were you born then? Hehe. Partner and I went to a very nice restaurant (only the best I was hotel manager for Jetset Tours when Isi Liebler was the boss) and they presented the soup. It was green, it was turtle soup. Jeff said, What’s this meat. The answer was, turtle.

    • Min – thanks for the intro to both sweet and squishy camel and duck. Tee Hee.

      1975, let me see. I was a big fan of Air Supply at that time, singing and dancing to some of their tunes.

      The most exotic soup I ever had was snake soup in Guilin, China. The soup was boiled with different chinese herbs and flesh tasted like “chicken” like everything else.

Leave a Reply

