“What’s Cooking?” – Garlic Chilli Chicken and Fried Free Range Duck Eggs

In last weekend foodtrail post at a dinner party, I featured 4 dishes; an entree of 2 types pork and prawn dumplings, red curry beef, garlic chilli chicken and fried free range duck eggs. The four courses are different in style; the dumpling is Chinese, the beef curry is Malaysian, chicken is Thai and the duck eggs is a typical Chinese Malaysian dish. I have posted the recipe for the first two courses. In today’s “what’s cooking?” I am presenting the other 2 courses served at the dinner party.

As I was originally born in Penang, a north-western state of peninsula Malaysia and close to the Thai border, my cooking typically exemplify a cross between Chinese, Malay and Thai. Sound a bit confusing and strange? I like to think of it as diverse, multicultural and interesting. For example eating century egg is foul! But to the Chinese Malaysian, we grew up eating it as an accompaniment with slice pickled ginger. I will be honest. I am not a big fan of century egg except if it is used in moderation in either a chicken or pork porridge. But my father loves and adore his century egg and can even eat it as a snack! 🙂 

DSC01031Alright, let’s get back to what you have been waiting. The third course is a garlic chilli chicken with basil leaves. It is a Thai style stir fried chicken dish. What I like most about Thai and Vietnamese food is they use a lot of fresh green herbs in their cooking; such as, mint and basil. In Malaysian style cuisine, dry spices are used more than fresh green herbs for the complex flavour of the dish. Some exceptions are lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves and curry leaves that are used in different variations of a Malaysian dish.

The above dish is very easy to make and delicious to eat. It is slightly spicy (you can put more chillies if you like it 10/10 hotness), garlicky, salty and has the beautiful aroma of the basil leaves. The preparation and cooking time are short for a quick, delicious meal.

Ingredients:

1 kg chicken thigh fillets

4 cloves garlic – chopped

4 bird eyes chillies – chopped

1 spanish onion – finely sliced

1 bunch basil leaves

2 tablespoon oyster sauce

1 tablespoon fish sauce

salt and sugar to taste

Cooking:

Heat some cooking oil. Toss in garlic and chilli. Fry until fragrant. Add chicken, fish sauce and oyster sauce. Stir fry until chicken is about cook, then toss in the onion and basil leaves. Season with a bit of salt and sugar.

The fourth and last course is a simple, homestyle fried duck eggs.

DSC01034If you don’t have free range duck eggs, you can substitute with chicken eggs. The only difference is that you will not get that beautiful, strong thick and creamy yolk. But it is still delicious with the crunchiness of the fluffy egg white base, sweet and saltiness of the oyster sauce and fragrant smell of the dried shallots, and a tint of spiciness in the fresh red chilli.

To eat and really enjoy all the different flavour in your mouth, you must first crush the yolk so it runs, then scoop a bit up with everything on it including the crunchy base. “Wah, Sedap Lah!” That means, “delicious” in Malay.

Ingredients:

4 free range duck eggs

2 stalks spring onion (green) chopped

1 fresh red chilli chopped

1 tablespoon oyster sauce

Sprinkle of dried shallots

Cooking:

Heat some cooking oil. The oil must be very hot, but not smoking. Toss in the eggs. They should be sizzling very quickly. Do not overcook the egg yolk. Remove eggs from the oil. Drain the excess oil. Dress the eggs with oyster sauce. Sprinkle the rest of the ingredients on top. 

Hope you all enjoy today’s “What’s Cooking”. If you do try the recipe, let me know if it works for you. 

“Makan Lah”

“Sedap Makan”

🙂

27 responses to ““What’s Cooking?” – Garlic Chilli Chicken and Fried Free Range Duck Eggs

  1. lusciouslawns

    Where did you get the duck eggs from Victor?

  2. I’m very tempted to reply: a duck.

    • lusciouslawns

      Haha well… me & Victor live quite close to each other and so he should share his secrets! 😀

      • Lusciouslawns – the duck eggs were gifts from our friends. They have a small duck and chook farm. But, I have bought duck eggs before from Chinese Emporium in Moonah, but be careful it is not salted duck eggs (which is a Chinese favourite with rice porridge). Another alternative is to ask a good butcher, like the one in Sandy Bay’s Vermey.

        • lusciouslawns

          Okay, I go into Vermey’s all the time for my meat, and my work (Sandy Bay Bakery) buys all the meat for the pies from Vermey’s. Thanks for your help!

          • No problem. If Vermey is unable to supply you and if you want me to check with my friends, I can get them to contact you directly. 🙂

    • That is a bit cheeky, Min. LOL!

  3. Hi Victor
    I came across your blog through the link on Steve’s (RVL) blogsite. Am intrigued by your recipes, and love the sound of them. I frequently come to Cygnet to eat at Steve’s, as I love his food, and the RVL. I just wish you had a little Asian restaurant in Cygnet too, so I could come and eat there as well. Keep it up. I love that you and your partner have moved here, and hope everything is wonderful for you in Cygnet.

    • Thanks Rita for your kind words and encouragement. Hopefully one day we get to meet. I heard about you from Steve. Good things of course. 😉

  4. Luncheon was based on your duck egg recipe. Needless to say, not a hope of getting any duck eggs unless I wanted to chase a lady duck around the pond at the park. I served with tiny rice balls.

    • LOL, Min. I agree they are not easy to find. In Asia, it is so common in the wet market. Sounds yummy with the rice balls. Another option is to serve with simple stir fried hokkien noodle.

      Did the egg recipe work for you? Things that can go wrong on this dish are:
      a. too much oyster sauce will make the dish too salty; and
      b. if oil is not hot enough, the eggs will not crisp properly and may become too soggy when it sets on the plate

  5. waooooo this recipe of ur sound great ill try it do you really think il get the duck eggs easily…….and do thy taste like ostrich egg and chicken eggs,,,,,
    and i too hv food blog my self if u have a look at it and guide me how to make it more interesting and good.. thank you again for posting this post….best of luck for your blog

    • Thanks, Bubbly. I am glad you like Foodtrail and your good wishes. I am actually very new to blogging, 2 months young at age! 🙂

      Depending on where you live, finding duck egg is not that simple in Australia. But most Asian supermarket will stock them, or a good butcher or you may even ask your local butcher to source a dozen for you (which may be a bit more expansive). However, if you live in Hobart area, DuckEggs just posted a comment above with their email address, tassieducks@gmail.com, and happy to supply the eggs @ $5/dozen.

      Bubbly – I am not sure how I should comment on your blog design. I had a look. Maybe it is easier if I share with you how I started Foodtrail. It is initially created by my partner for me. I have been wondering how I can share my food interest with people. I have changed my blog theme a couple of times, until I get it right and feel that it is friendly and pleasing to the eyes of the reader. It must be clean, easy to navigate with limited widgets. The colour scheme needs to be soft to the eyes and not “shouting” at the reader. People’s comments should be easy to read and follow to encourage participation on the blog. I hope this will help you rethink and reevaluate your blog design. 🙂

      Btw I am not sure how Ostrich egg taste like as I have never tried one before.

  6. It was just fine Victor. I always go by mother’s saying, You can always put more in, but you can’t take it back out again! But yes, next time I will most definitely make sure that the oil is a little hotter..one of my faults as a cook.

    • Min – it is all about adjustment here and there, right? It is easier if it is a food demonstration. Also it varies with the type of oyster sauce (ie brand), fry pan (I use wok) and burner temperature. I have faith in you that you will get it right the next time.

      Btw, one thing that I really like about the MasterChef’s Friday night episode is the cooking lesson by Gary and George. They always ask a simple question. That is, what can go wrong with the dish?

  7. Victor..I have the Ayam brand oyster sauce. I am now looking for this brand more often and it seems that even our Coles is getting more of this brand in stock. My wok is probably about as old as you :-). Hubby and I bought this when we first married in ’75. It’s quite a thin metal compared with today’s non-stick versions and requires oiling and maintaining.

    I think that a bit of my problem is that I grew up in Melbourne with gas cooking..that is, instant heat and in spite of living in northern NSW for a long time have the bad habit of inadequately preheating electric burners. However..as you say once you identify the problem then you are a good way towards correcting it. XXXMin

    • Let’s see. Bought in 1975, that means 34 yrs old. Wow, thanks for the lovely compliments. It must be the Lancome products. LOL!

  8. Hexx of Caboolture

    Well i can go with this site too, I’m getting use to many changes right now and this just seems to be in sync with my life. I might kill if my new stove is not hooked up in the next few days, stuff the grout in the tiles i want my stove.

    Victor is there an email for this site you can be reached on?

    • Tee Hee..sorry about the new new look! But, I just can’t help it. This theme is superb and I give you my word, “This is it” and I really mean “This is it”. Hope I don’t end up like MJ.

      Oops, I left out the email address. Added back on now. Thanks for asking.

  9. Hexx..I would be happy with a griller that would cook evenly! But I expect it’s a bit the same as buying a car and expecting both windscreen wipers to work evenly 🙂

    I am getting used to the stove at this house and now know that the back LHS burner heats far more quickly than the front RHS burner and also that the bottom knob relates to the front RHS burner and the 2nd knob relates to the front LHS burner which is the complete opposite to my last stove. I now have several burnt pots due to turning off the wrong burner.

  10. Trick question for Victor (an others of course)..Say..if you are doing a dish and need a side of crisp fresh steamed veg, what is there other than carrot to add color (other than green) to the plate.

    • Hmm, I am not much into steam veg, Min. You probably know that in Asian cooking, we usually use cauliflower, broccoli, capsicum and baby corn for texture, and other soft Asian greens. But, hopefully someone else is reading this comment and offer you some tips.

  11. Re your father eating Century eggs..my father used to love a plate of tripe with onions and white sauce.

  12. regarding the trick question,

    yellow mini squash can also be steamed, as can pumkin, and believe it or not – eggplant.

    That’s three.

    Next question!

  13. What a delicious recipe.I followed you from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide our readers to your site if you won’t mind.Just add your choice of foodista widget to this post and it’s all set to go, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

