“What’s Cooking” – 20 minutes Noodle

Landed back at home. In-laws left this morning. Last night a busy day cooking for everybody. Time to wind down and take it easy again. Back to normal and daily routine.

I have neglected my other regular post on “What’s Cooking” in the past few weeks. Simple reason – I didn’t have to cook. Eating out was the norm in the past 2 weeks in Penang and Laos. If I was given a kitchen – I would have loved to cook a few local dishes. One day, maybe just one day, my dream of walking through an Asian wet market picking fresh produce and ingredients for cooking may happen. This may come soon. I will make another trip back home to Penang in 5 weeks! I may try cooking out in my mum’s tiny kitchen of one portable gas burner! That will be a challenge for any decent Cook.

In case you are wondering if I have finished my posts on Laos. The answer is NO. I have a few more special posts to write on Laos. But, for now, I like to share my 20 minutes nooodle on tonight’s dinner. It is so simple. That is what I like. Nothing fancy. Just the two of us. Just a bowl in one hand and a chopstick in the other hand. He sat in front of his computer blogging happily. I sat on a bar stool watching tele.

All you need is a jar of Black Bean Chili Sauce (same as the one in my previous post), ginger, garlic, spring onion, Chinese black vinegar, sesame oil, thick caramel sauce, tofu puff, chinese cabbage and of course, some dry noodle. The flavour is very spicy, like a Sichuan dish.

DSC02618

Step 1: Preparation

1. Boil a pot of water with a bit of salt. On boiling, toss in some dry noodle. Boil until almost soft, then rinse in cold water. Let sit until ready to use.

2. Cut the tofu puff into small quarter. Set aside.

3. Chop 4 garlic cloves and small section of ginger. Set aside.

4. Chop 4 spring onion. Set aside for garnish later.

5. Chop 3 leaves of Chinese cabbage. Set aside.

DSC02620

Step 2: Cooking

1. Heat some cooking oil in a hot wok. Toss in garlic and ginger. Stir fry until fragrant.

2. Add 200-300 gm minced pork. Stir fry until cooked.

3. Add tofu puff and chinese cabbage. Continue to stir fry. Add a big tablespoon of black bean chili sauce, 1 tablespoon thick caramel sauce, 2 tablespoon black vinegar, 1 teaspoon sesame oil. Mix through and continue to stir fry. Continue to stir fry for another 5 minutes.

4. Add noodle and toss evenly through the ingredients. Sprinkle a bit of salt and sugar to taste.

DSC02617

Now, enjoy your 20 minutes noodle! Not a 5 minute Maggi Noodle. But better – tastier and very spicy! Use less black bean chili sauce if you like it mild.

🙂

9 responses to ““What’s Cooking” – 20 minutes Noodle

  1. I wish I was having dinner at your place. That looks so good!

    I love puffed tofu – did you buy it from Moonah?

  2. Thanks Victor. Btw, your chicken rice recipe was delicious! I couldn’t believe how tasty the soup was with so few ingredients. And super easy too. Cured the entire family of their colds!

    • Glad it works for you, Michelle.

      Btw I had a bowl of soup in Laos with fried rice – very simple and tasty – I think only some sliced young ginger, some chinese greens and a few little minced pork balls.

  3. thanks! it sounds and looks tasty! i think it is a high time for me to have something to eat after such a post! lol!

  4. Victor, glad you had such a good and delicious trip!

    I love making this type of noodle, so quick and easy. Adding some dried chinese mushroom (after soaking) is also good. :o)

  5. Victor, I’ll try to cook up this dish soon. Looks great!!! I can almost smell it, makes me hungry now.

Leave a Reply

