“What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

Yes, it is. My mum’s Ayam Goreng. Well, almost. I applied my own style and a slight variation. My partner was happy with the dish. So was I, for a first attempt. However, I would have prefer more spice in the chicken. So next time, I will add a bit more curry powder. Ayam goreng is one of those dish that has a few variations, adjust to individual taste. “Ayam Goreng” is a Malay word. “Ayam” refers to chicken, and “goreng” refers to frying. So it is a fried chicken dish – Malaysian style.

I had the following homegrown ingredients which I used in this dish – small red onions and tomatoes. The spring onions were used in a different dish. I also used my own homegrown curry leaves, featured in a previous post.

I used a free range chicken – half a chicken, cut into small pieces. Then marinated in 2 tablespoons curry powder, a pinch of salt and white pepper, 1 tablespoon dark soy sauce and 1 tablespoon light soy sauce. Then covered in glad wrap and left in the fridge to marinate. I was going to use it the next day for dinner, but our neighbour who lives in Dandenong and has a lovely house further up our hill, invited us for dinner. So the chicken was left in the fridge for 2 nights. It did no harm to the meat. I think it made the meat more tender and tastier.

Next I fried the chicken until they were nicely cooked and browned. I then drained the excess oil on a couple of absorbent kitchen paper towels.

While the kitchen paper towels were soaking up the excess oil from the chicken, I peeled the onion’s skin and chopped the onions into halves. Next I removed curry leaves from its sprig and soaked some tamarind pulp in water to extract the juice.

Now that I had everything prepared, I was ready for the final step of this dish. I heated a saucepan with some oil. Tossed in the onions and curry leaves. Stir fried until fragrant. Then added some tamarind juice and the chicken. Simmered the chicken for a few minutes.

Finally, I plated my dish on some chilled shredded iceberg lettuce and diced some homegrown tomatoes.

My version:

And, my mum’s version:

Which version is the best? I like to be bias and say it was mine. But, the truth is mum’s Ayam Goreng is still the best.

Hope you enjoy this recipe.

10 responses to ““What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. Hi Victor,

    That looks sooooo delicious. It’s worth the wait ever since I read about your mum’s ayam goreng. The chicken looks good just fried by itself without the sauce! I’ll definitely try it…. BTW, I think your version looks better, but then who is the professional here…..

  2. OMG, everything you cook looks so delicious. I’ve really been enjoying your blog. 🙂

  3. This looks so good. I almost never leave meat marinaded for two days, but seeing and hearing about how succulent the meat became makes me reconsider.

  4. It all looks so delicious! Thanks for posting such a beautiful and tasty recipe.

    Since you are using homegrown ingredients, would you like to enter this post in our Grow Your Own roundup this month? Full details at

    http://chezannies.blogspot.com/2010/01/rambutans-plus-grow-your-own.html

  5. Beautiful photography Victor – as usual!

  6. Mscinda – thanks. Glad you enjoy reading my posts.

    Christine – it helps with chicken being free range too. Have been buying free range chook only. Love the flavour and juiciness of a fresh chook. 🙂

    Stephen – thanks, mate.

    Nate & Annie – thanks. And, thank you for pointing me to your blog and GYO. First time I have submitted my post to any competition. Thanks again.

  7. Good Post. I’ll look forward to your next article

  8. This is a great recipe Victor – I’m trying it tonight!

  9. No idea which one is the best. Yours will be great and has that nice thing we like: colours.
    On the other hand: your mom’s looks like the real stuff: maybe I’m wrong but I already can almost taste the difference.
    So: your’s looks like the nicest.
    Your mom’s surely tastes the best. Period!

    Oh well, not sure of course. Just joking. I’m sure both are fine. (PC comment – Wink).
    Jay-P.

Leave a Reply

