“What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

I had a very difficult time waking up this morning after returning home last night. I was watching a DVD bought in Penang. My partner chose to screen “Paranormal Activity”. It was a horror movie – something like Blairwitch Project. It gave me a terrible nightmare. I woke up at 2 am and could not get back to sleep for a couple of hours thinking about the movie. Fortunately, my neighbour rang about 9:30 am. I dragged myself out of bed 30 minutes later. After a cup of tea, I went to check my garden and vege patch. I could not believed my eyes. I had so many tomatoes either almost or fully ripen. They look and taste delicious.

And, all my spring onions were ready to be used. So, removed them and used in tonight’s cooking.

I have a craving for fresh shiitake and oyster mushrooms stir fry tonight. I have previously posted a vegetarian version of this dish. But, tonight I have decided to stir fry with some chicken.

Stir fry chicken with fresh shiitake and oyster mushrooms.

Ingredients:

Fresh shiitake mushrooms

Fresh oyster mushrooms

3 chicken thigh fillets

3 cloves garlic

1 bunch coriander

2 spring onions (green section)

1 fresh red chili

1 tablespoon light soy sauce

1 tablespoon oyster sauce

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup chicken stock

Preparation

1. Chop chicken and mushrooms into chunky bite pieces. Set aside.

2. Chop garlic finely. Set aside.

3. Chop spring onions finely. Set aside later for garnishing.

4. Chop coriander stems finely. Set aside.

5. Chop coriander leaves. Set aside later for garnishing.

6. Chop red chili. Set aside.

Cooking

1. Heat some oil in a hot wok.

2. Toss in garlic and coriander stems. Stir fry until fragrant.

3. Add chicken. Stir fry until cook.

4. Add mushrooms. Stir fry until cook.

5. Add sauces and red chili. Toss and mix together.

6. Add chicken stock with some corn starch. Let simmer gently.

7. Plate the dish and garnish with coriander leaves, spring onions and dried shallots (optional).

I plated the dish with a bit of steamed rice and last night leftover butter chicken (with home grown tomatoes).

Kitchen Chat

What is the weirdest thing you have seen lately? For me, I was walking in the mall last week in Penang and came across this..

in front of a spa window –  “fish foot spa massage”.

First time I heard about this type of spa treatment was two years ago when I went back to Penang. Read about it in a local newspaper. Imagine having so many little fish nibbling and chewing away dead skins on your feet and ankles! Hmm..what feelings go through your mind? Pretty weird stuff. Maybe I should try that next time.

46 responses to ““What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. Just love this blog. I’m planning to go to Malaysia in May so I might try ‘fish foot spa massage’ – sounds wonderful.

    • Mari – let me know after you have try it. I am thinking of doing it myself on my next trip, so I can share with everyone the sensation and feelings that go through my mind and body! 🙂

  2. I was all in the mood for a Shitake stir fry – then the fish foot massage kind of put me off a bit. LOL – great recipe by the way thanks!

  3. Da hora a masage nos pé, como diria o ratim “isso é coi de loco!”

  4. I felt hungry for tomatoes and go to Malaysia

    Thank you Victor

  5. wow! I wish I could grow tomatoes like that! New Mexico is not very hospitable when it comes to some garden foods….

  6. “fish foot spa massage” 🙂 Wonderful

  7. eeeeeerm the best shoot out of the photos is the tomato one =))

  8. I wasn’t too impressed by Paranormal Activity either. It freaked me out but my girlfriend just HAD to see it… Anyways this recipe sounds delicious! I am a huge mushroom fan….yum! Do you think that it would be good with “fake chicken?” We are on this vegetarian kick but this sounds so good!

    • Yes, definitely. I have previously posted a similar recipe using mock meats. The only flaw in the recipe was I cannot 100% claim it was a vegetarian dish, since I didn’t use a vegetarian version of sauces.

      Btw it still creeps me thinking about the woman being dragged out of bed by “something” in the movie. Hated that scene.

  9. I hope the fish are not piranhas! Just kidding.

    Tomatoes and chicken/mushroom dish look absolutely gorgeous!

  10. The shitake and oysters look fab!

  11. Your photos and recipe are fabulous and I can’t wait to try it!

    Here in Washington State in the US, they’ve actually outlawed fish pedicures deeming them to be ‘too unsanitary.’ Christine Anthony, of Department of Licensing, said, “You can clean the tank, you can clean the water, but there’s no guarantee that the fish aren’t carrying something from the previous customer.” If you happen to get a fish pedi, please write about it, as I’m rather curious about what it’s like.

    Great blog and looking forward to reading more!

    • Thanks, Tara. My mum said the same thing to me – beware, the fish may carry previous customers’ foot disease! I wonder if there is any scientific evidence that proof either way – good or bad.

  12. I’m sitting in the library and have suddenly turned hungry. I wonder why.lol

  13. apocalypsecakes

    Your chicken and mushroom fry thing is definitely on my A-list. Recipes like yours that use oyster mushrooms are great because their little tentacles soak up flavors so nicely. I’m bookmarking this for a special night of hot oyster mushroom romance. Thanks for posting.

    • Thanks, Apocalypsecakes. Make sure there are plenty of candles. And, a nice bottle of white – Semillon Sauvignon Blanc.

  14. Hmmm…not sure how I feel about fish foot spa…haha. 😀 The food, however, looks absolutely divine! 😀

    • LOL! I was indeed surprised how the picture showed up with double images of the hidden woman’s feet. Kinda different.

  15. (p.s. do you think baby bella mushrooms could replace some of the shiitake with similair results?)

    • Hi Sarah – yes, a variety of different mushrooms to create interesting texture will work in this dish, including baby bella. But cut into half or quarter depending on your preference. Cheers.

  16. Man!!! So delicious!! I love the shitake mushrooms!

    Man oh man. I just ate 15 minutes ago but now, by looking at

    these delightful, mouth-watering dishes…

    I’m starved.

    By the way, nice blog Victor!

    Cheers,
    Alfonso

  17. I have just discovered your blog and I am so jealous that it is only March 2nd and you have so many beautiful tomatoes already. I live in Minnesota, we won’t see tomatoes for another 3-4 months!

    Enjoy~

  18. Your article is very informative. I am bookmarking it for my future reference.

  19. Welcome home. What a tomato harvest! Our’s haven’t ripened yet, we were a little late putting them in. But need to make some tomato relish soon. Shop tomatoes have no taste!!! I need to catch up on all your posts soon….

    • Thanks, Hazel.
      I went to pick more tomatoes this afternoon. Found my flimsy homemade gate was left opened! I forgot to shut it yesterday. My tomato plants were partially squashed and pushed – probably by my resident wallaby! Fortunately most of my tomatoes are intact and looks okay.

  20. Hey Victor – welcome back, and a question….how come the huge volume of comments on your blog all of a sudden, the majority of which also seem to be from US?

    • Rita, This blog is on the front page of WordPress.com. Check it now. So its got so many comments. How ever, Nice post Victor. Congrats for achieving the featured wordpress blog post of the day.

      🙂

      • Thanks, Mitrabhanu. I am truly grateful to the Editor and WordPress.com team for picking my post on their featured page.

        Hey Rita – reason as explained by Mitrabhanu. This is the second time WordPress.com team has picked my blog for their feature front page. I am so delighted and excited when I saw the number of hits and comments yesterday. Yesterday hit is the best ever for my blog – 2,014.

  21. The tomatoes look amazing!

    I lived in Penang for 6 years and I’ve never even heard of a “Fish Foot Spa Massage”, although it does look interesting.

    I think it’s amazing that you grow your own vegetables, keep up the awesome posts!

    • Hi Kevin – the ‘fish foot spa’ photo was taken at Queensbay Mall. I think Level 2 North Zone. I am not sure if there is still one at Gurney Plaza.

      My tomatoes are organic and they taste awesome. So much flavour compare to supermarket brand. They are easy to grow. If you have a small yard in a sunny position, try planting one or two seedling next spring/summer.

  22. Hey, congrats V. Can those little fish massage too?

    • Thanks, C.

      Hee hee..fancy those little fish. They nibble. Some described the feeling as strange and ticklish. I will try it next trip and let you know.

  23. Hi Victor,
    I fully agree about the quality of shop-bought tomatos these days. All tastless watery s**t .(Pardon my French.) Last time I had really good ones was in the South of France, some 5 years ago, bought on a small local farmers market in Vaison La Romaine. The stuff sold in Hong Kong is imported from all over the world and still, all the same. Even tomatos imported from Malaysia have almost no taste here, while those I bought in Malaysia were much better!
    I wonder why???

    • Hey Jay-P – good question. Probably the ones you get in Penang comes from Balik Pulau. Maybe should buy a small plot of land and farm own vege and herbs there.

  24. fish pedi – i usually get mine during birdwatching trips. small streams inhabited by fishes ever so willing to remove dead skin. it’s free and i believe the fishes should be cleaner. tickels too.

    • Seng Aun – that is so funny. That reminds me when I was a little boy, dad used to take me to Penang Botanical Garden. I enjoyed catching tadpoles in the fresh, clean stream and frequently got nibbled by little fish around my feet and ankle. You are probably right – that is more hygienic and definitely 100% organic. 🙂

  25. Victor the fish creep me out !
    I love the tomato you pick it be would great for salad with fresh mozoella cheese fresh basil, extra virgin olive oil
    and some balsimic vinegar.

    • I have been eating them whenever I walked passed my kitchen. Like eating grapes. Burst in my mouth. So sweet with amazing flavour. I wish I can share some with you in the salad. Sounds fabulous.

  26. Lovely looking tomatoes Victor-nice to see you & reb last night.
    I SO want that fish tank for my bunyons, God I am turning into my own father!

    • Hey Steve – likewise, nice to see you. And, a nice surprise to see Lee C at RVL too. We both enjoyed our lamb and beef dishes. Thanks.

  27. “What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen?
    ugh.. your blog totally makes me feel hungry.. 😛
    and i love the tomatoes, they look so shinyyy…

    thanks for the recipe, i will try it tonite!

Leave a Reply

