“What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

Well, you are in for a little treat. I could not sleep. I was thinking about work. Thinking about what I should say to my client. About some key areas of process improvements to their business. That is not healthy. That is why I got up. But, before that I laid in bed tossing left to right, and right to left after watching the 4 Corner program on ABC – Scientology. Most interesting program. The Australia Scientology is currently under investigation. The revelation in the program by ex-members were quite shocking to me.

What is my little treat for you? How about some chicken curry puffs?

Before I went to Penang, about 3 weeks ago, I made my first curry puff. I am not big in baking. As a matter of fact, I rarely bake. I am not sure what inspire me to bake some puffs for an afternoon snack. I made quite a few so I shared some with my neighbours.

This is a very simple recipe. I didn’t have any minced meat in my fridge. So I used chicken thigh fillets and diced them into fine pieces.

Ingredients

Chicken mince or chicken fillets diced into fine pieces

3 potatoes – cut into small dice pieces

1/2 cup peas

2 tablespoons curry powder

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1 cup chicken stock

salt and sugar to taste

Cooking

1. Heat some oil in a hot saucepan

2. Toss in chicken pieces. Stir fry until cook.

3. Add curry and chili powder. Mix through with the chicken. Add a bit of chicken stock if meat is getting too dry.

3. Add potatoes and peas. Stir fry until almost cook.

4. Add remaining chicken stock. Turn down heat and let simmer until stock is reduced to almost dry. Season with salt and sugar to taste.

5. Remove and let it cool. I left it cool in the fridge overnight.

Making the puff

1. If you are a keen baker, you can make your own puff pastry. I bought mine from the supermarket – a puff pastry. And, it tastes as good. No messy flour all over my kitchen.

2.  Preheat the oven to 200 degree.

3. Cut the pastry into small round shape.

4. Fill the pastry with 1-2 teaspoons of chicken curry fillings.

5. Fold the pastry into half and pinch the edges.

6. Brush with some melted butter.

7. Place on a baking tray.

8. Baked for approximately 30 to 40 minutes depending on your oven heat.

It should come out golden brown with a nice puffy texture like this.

Serve with Thai sweet chili sauce or if you like, try my shallots and chili vinaigrette dipping sauce.

3-4 french shallots finely sliced

1 fresh red chili finely sliced

1 cup white vinegar

1 tablespoon white sugar

Mix the ingredients together in a bowl.

Enjoy the snack.

Kitchen Chat

In my last Kitchen Chat, it was about fish pedicure at a fish foot spa parlour in Penang.

I continue my Kitchen Chat this week with another interesting body remedy – The machine shoulder massage pad. Demonstrated by my partner. He could not resist this little toy demonstrated at a shop when we were in Penang a couple of weeks ago. So he bought one to bring home!

Check it out.

I had to try it this afternoon so I can tell you. It was very, very good. It actually felt like a strong masseur hitting my back with two very firm hands. The movements back and forth and left to right and then in the middle were just like a regular Thai massage. The strength increases from gentle blow to quite a vigorous blow. It was actually quite painful. The pad was heated as well and felt good on the aching back. After 15 minutes of the robotic massage, I had to soak myself in a nice warm spa bath.

Have you try anything like this before?

8 responses to ““What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. Hi Victor

    I’ve been busy so didn’t get a chance to catch up with your blog until today. I must say I enjoy reading your blog! My favourite so far is the one where you do ALL the washing up in the household! 🙂

    This Sunday is Mothering Sunday in UK and you’ve given me a brilliant idea for dessert – your curry puffs so thanks. I must start putting photos into Twitter, a couple of Twitter friends have been softly encouraging me to.

    Lastly, I need to get that shoulder massage pad too, looks effective!

    Have a good week.

    • Emily – thanks. What is Mothering Sunday? Does it mean your hubby has the day off?
      Yes, you must. Twitpic your favourite photos you like to share with your friends and followers.
      You must, you must again. The shoulder massage pad is brilliant. Great invention from Japan. I like to get the massage chair next!

  2. I think the message pad would be great right now for my neck. :*(

    The pastry looks good. Every time I see this pastry it make me chuckle. When I was attending college in Iowa many years ago, I would bring this pastry home for my little. She was hooked after that. Over 10 years later, she still talks about it and been looking for the pastry that taste as good as the one she had as a kid ever since. 😆

    • I bet you and Mrs D are good in pastry making from a few of your post. I think I made the curry puffs because a taxi driver in Penang bought and gave me some, which brought back my childhood memory.

  3. Those puffs look excellent- perfect comfort food…will have to give this recipe a whirl!

  4. Victor

    I think hub’s working this Sunday but we’re only going to makan in the evening. Mothering Sunday is Mother’s Day. Pretty sure you’ve got it over there but just not celebrated so early in the year.

    Massage chair, aah! What about hand massage, even better, isn’t it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

