“What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

It has been a while since I last posted a recipe. Not that I have not been cooking. Actually I have been cooking almost every night for my partner and myself. Most of the dishes were previously shared with you. Other times, I reinvented a similar dish with one or two minor adjustments, whatever fancy me at that moment.

Tonight I cooked a stir fry chicken with celery, and reheated a caramalised pork belly that I cooked a couple of nights ago. I cooked some basmati rice to go with the two dishes.

Chicken dish – Total preparation time: 10 minutes. Total cooking time: 10 minutes

Rice – Total preparation time: 2 minutes. Total cooking time: 20 minutes

Pork dish – Total preparation time: 10 minutes. Total cooking time: 1-2 hours

I bought a 20 kg bag of Basmati Rice a few weeks ago. I am a total convert from a Thai Jasmine rice-man to a Basmati rice-man. I was told it is healthier.

The technique of cooking Basmati rice in a pot is slightly different from cooking Jasmine rice. It requires less water and medium to low heat to get that beautiful loose fluffy texture. I cooked my rice in a medium size pot. 2 cups of rice in the pot. Rinse a couple of times in cold water. Fill the pot with water. The water level is 1 cm above the rice, with the rice totally immersed. I use an induction stove top, with the temperature set at number 4 (9 is the maximum). When the water is almost evaporated (about 10 minutes), reduce the heat to number 2 and let the rice slowly steamed for another 5 minutes, then turn off the heat and sit for another 5 minutes.

Stir-fry Chicken with Leeks.

Marinate the chicken with a teaspoon of light soy sauce, sprinkle of salt and ground pepper. Refrigerate until ready to use.

1 bunch of celery. Cut the celery sticks into small bit pieces. Then chop 2-3 cloves garlic finely. Set aside until ready to cook.

To cook:

1. Heat some oil in a hot wok.

2. Toss in chopped garlic. Stir fry until fragrant.

3. Toss in chicken. Stir fry until almost cooked. Add celery, 1 tablespoon fish sauce, 1 tablespoon oyster sauce. Continue to stir fry until chicken is cooked.

4. Add a dash or two of sesame oil.

5. Add some corn starch mixed with a bit of water (or chicken stock).

6. Sprinkle a bit of salt, sugar and lots of cracked black peppercorn.

7. Remove and plate in a Chinese porcelain bowl.

Caramalised Pork Belly.

Marinate the pork belly in 1 tablespoon caramalised dark sauce, a sprinkle of salt and some ground pepper. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Chop 3 cloves of garlic. Set aside until ready to use.

To cook:

1. Heat a non-stick frying pan on medium heat.

2. Toss in marinated pork. Slowly fry for 5-10 minutes.

3. Toss in garlic. Mix through with the pork. Continue to stir fry until pork is nicely browned.

4. Add some water, enough for pork to slowly simmer in the water. Lower the heat and simmer for 1 hour.

5. When gravy is reduced and almost thicken, add a tablespoon of caramalised dark sauce. Mix through pork evenly. Continue to simmer until the gravy and pork has a nice glossy carmalised flavour.

6. Plate caramalised pork on a bed of shredded iceberg lettuce.

13 responses to ““What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. Love the caramelised pork belly Victor. Delicious! Must try your method for cooking rice. I’m sure you get a great result.

    • Thanks, Mary. I think it is more of a habit that I like to cook my rice this way. We have a rice cooker, but I rarely use it.

  2. Hi Victor

    Love your dishes on this posting. Will cook both soon. Sometimes, one of the mundane dilemmas in my day is “What shall I cook?” 🙂

    Have a great week and hope your weekend went well.

  3. We eat the Thai Jasmine rice, and have never heard of the Basmati rice before, from your photo they look real good.

    The caramalised pork belly looks real good, it has been a while since I had pork.

    • Nye – Basmati rice is the most common rice for Indian food. I was told by my dietitian that it has lower GI than Jasmine rice. All the major supermarket here and Asian supermarket sell them from small bag to a big 20 kg bag. There are different grades and quality. I bought the brand, DAAWAT. It is very good. Nye, try your bigger supermarket. Hopefully you can find a small bag to try next time.

      • Thanks Victor, I’ll check to see if Sam’s Club carry them. They have rice but I’ve never looked at the brand, I guess I always cook jasmine rice.

        • Nye – we had the basmati rice again last night. I am certain I will eat basmati from now on. It’s lighter, and I don’t feel too full.

  4. Victor, what is the “Marinate the pork belly in 1 tablespoon [caramalised dark sauce] , did you make this?then add more at the end?. Sounds good and would like to try.. Thanks LM

    • Hi Lang Mack – yes, that is correct. Marinate the pork with a tablespoon caramalised dark sauce. And, add more towards the end of cooking.

  5. Sorry mate, what I was asking is, “caramalised dark sauce”, what is it, the sauce, do you buy it or make it?. Could I be a pain and ask just what I should do? :).
    Your dealing with a farmer here, mutton and mutton and beef..
    Thanks LM.

    • I see, LM. I use the brand “Yuen Chun” Thick Caramel Sauce. It comes in a bottle. Hope you can find it at your local Asian supermarket. Otherwise, any other brand that has the label, “thick caramel sauce” or “thick dark soy”.

  6. Ah, right, got it.. I’ll give it a go shortly and give you a report.
    Many thanks.. LM

Leave a Reply

