“What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

Chicken Mince Salad

Simple to make and healthy to eat.

Ingredients

1 baby coarse lettuce

1 thumb size ginger chop finely

250 gm chicken mince

1 red onion dice finely

1 bunch spring onion chop finely

1 bunch coriander leaves

2 fresh green chilies sliced thinly

1 bunch mint leaves chop roughly

3 tablespoons fish sauce

2 fresh limes

Cooking

1. Heat some vegetable oil in a hot wok

2. Toss in ginger. Quick stir fry until fragrant

3. Add chicken mince. Stir fry until cooked

4. Add fish sauce. Mix through.

5. Turn heat off. Leave chicken to cool down.

6. Add spring onion, red onion, mint, coriander and chili. Squeeze 2 fresh limes. Toss and mix through.

7. Serve on top of shredded baby coarse lettuce.

I had the chicken mince salad with a deep fried flathead fillet topped with lots of coriander and mint herbs.

10 responses to ““What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. Stephen Estcourt

    Looks lovely Victor

  2. Victor,

    That looks so yummy. Bet your mum enjoyed it.

    How goes it today? Remember to breathe and stay in the NOW. When you do that, the problem does not appear insurmontable.

    Thinking of you and wishing I could taste the dish.

    lee

  3. I’m going to try this tonight V…looks delicious. Will use Vietnamese mint which I have truckloads of…feel free to pick some anyone passing by!

  4. Victor – That looks so much like one popular laotian dish which called “larb”. I’m not sure if you tried the dish when you were in Laos.

    • Yes I did, See. It is my interpretation of Larb. I think in Lao, you put in fresh chopped dill too. A french influence, which makes it slightly different from a Thai versioin. Is that right?

  5. Victor, that looks so good. It does look very much like larb, especially the mint, spring onion, fish sauce and lime juice. I’ve not tried with ginger and I love the taste of ginger.

    • Nye – I love SEA food, so my cooking is influenced by that part of region. Love fresh herbs in a good SEA salad, esp Larb. 🙂

  6. Hi,

    I like asian foods .And I also have a Turkish food recipes blog.If you let I will publish some of your recipes.

    Regards

    • Peksimet – my recipes are to share with all. So, yes please feel free to choose and republish on your blog.

Leave a Reply

