“What’s cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

Continuing with day 3 of my mother’s visit. Took her and my sister to Hobart for a noodle lunch at Ricky’s place, “White Box Noodle” in Sandy Bay. It was nice to see Ricky’s face as I walked in. A big gasp, followed by a big smile! I have not been there for almost a year. He came from Penang, my home town, and made the best Char Koay Teow (CKT) and Sar Hor Fun (SHF) in Hobart. I took my mum and sister to sample Ricky’s CKT and SHF. They are as good as you can get to Penang. As a fellow Penangite, he showed mum great hospitality and refused to charge us for the two dishes. I had a nice catch-up with Ricky for lost time. I promised him that I will be back soon.

Got home about midday. My neighbours invited mum and sister over for an English afternoon tea. They are the best neighbours I ever had. They made scone, cakes, sandwiches and some sausage rolls. I was blown away. Mum was a bit shy and quiet. She does not speak English. I was the interpreter between mum and my neighbours. It was hilarious.

When we got home, mum helped me with some food preparation. I can see that she felt more relax at home and in the kitchen. She skillfully and gently stripped excess fat off some pork belly, cut into bite pieces, salted and then rinsed them. Then, she helped me soaked some dried shiitake mushrooms and removed the stalked. Soaked some dried black fungus and rinsed a few times. Rinsed some baby coarse lettuces and chopped some garlic. Halved some dried puff tofu.

Tuesday dinner – spiced soy pork and vegetable stir fry.

Spice Soy Pork Belly

1 star anise, 4 cloves, 1 cinnamon stick, 6 cloves garlic. Mix all the ingredient in 6 cups water, 1/2 cup dark soy sauce and 1 teaspoon salt. Bring to boil. Then add pork, dried puff tofu and mushrooms. Lower heat to simmer until pork is tender and cooked.

Stir Fry Mixed Vegetables

Heat some oil in a wok. Toss in garlic. Add dried puff tofu, then black fungus. Stir for 3 minutes. Then add lettuces, 2 tablespoons oyster sauce, 1 tablespoon light soy and 1 teaspoon sesame oil. Sprinkle some salt and pepper to taste.

So far, mum and sister are very happy with my food and enjoy watching my cooking. I told them I will cook some fish tomorrow. 🙂

8 responses to ““What’s cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. The recipe looks great! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Victor

    They look so delicious. Do I get an invite to your kitchen or your mum’s kitchen when I next visit Penang. Perhaps I can get to practise my hokkien as well.

    Glad to hear that you are simply having a wonderful time with your mum.

  3. Awesome! I know when my mom/gran’s around, they’re always a help in the kitchen and sometimes, I can even put my feet up! 🙂

  4. victor, thanks for sharing about your mum, I do miss my mom as she used to cook in the kitchen when I visited her, she passed away 3 years ago. I think when you only have one parent left, you love and appreciate them more.

    The food looks delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

