“What’s cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

Day 4 of cooking for mum.

Mum is wondering how I do it – driving her and sis around town, come home and cook for them. Not easy. By bed time, I am sound asleep.

Wednesday lunch – stir fry noodles with shredded chicken and “lap cheong” (Chinese sausage). Mum is surprised that I can whipped a stir fry noodle in less than 5 minutes! I am glad she loves the colour and tastes of the dish.

The beauty of cooking for mum is that she helps with the preparation. She asked what I like her to do. I made up my ingredients along the way. Some chopped garlic, spring onions, lap cheong and lettuce leaves, and leftover poached chicken meat, which mum gently shredded the meat.

I boiled a pot of water and cooked some dried noodles. Rinsed and set aside.

Next, I heated some oil in a hot wok. Tossed in some chopped garlic. Added the sliced lap cheong. Gave them a quick stir fry. Tossed in shredded chicken meat, 1 tablespoon of dark soy sauce, 2 tablespoons of thick caramalised sauce, 1 tablespoon black vinegar. Mixed all through. Tossed in noodle, then lettuces. Finally, added some salt, cracked pepper and corn starch.

I garnished my bowl of noodle with a teaspoon of sambal oelek and dried shallots.

After lunch, I took mum and sis to the Japanese Garden at RTBG, Royal Tasmanian Botanical Garden.

Earlier photos taken in early autumn.

RTBG is a fantastic garden with many specimen trees from around the world, some dated back to the nineteenth century. It was established in 1818, located in a lovely spot of Hobart, overlooking the Derwent River and next to the Governor House. It is a working garden, with a lively garden and herb section – a main feature in ABC’s Gardening Australia program. I love visiting the garden throughout the year, and never miss the tulip festival in Spring. It is never too busy or pack with people. There is a shop selling gifts and souvenirs, and a restaurant with an outdoor balcony overlooking the garden down towards the Derwent River.

After a brief visit to RTBG, I went for my haircut. Left mum and sis to do some window shopping at Centrepoint. The so-called shopping in Hobart central CBD. It is really small, and nothing terribly exciting. I arranged where to meet after my haircut.

My sister saw this little sandwich/cake shop and offer to buy a cake for my birthday, which is tomorrow.

After buying the cake, I detoured to a fish punt at the waterfront before heading home. I wanted to cook fish for mum tonight. I bought an ocean trout fillet for tonight and a whole red snapper for tomorrow.

Wednesday dinner – oven baked ocean trout and steamed tofu.

Baked ocean trout

Preheat oven to 200 degree Celsius. Place fish on a flat tray. Sprinkle some sea salt and cracked black pepper. Garnish with shredded kaffir lime leaves, coriander leaves and cherry tomatoes. Dress with some extra virgin olive oil. Then cover with aluminum foil. Heat in oven at 180 degree for 30 minutes.

Steamed tofu

Place some tofu slices on a shallow tray. Add some shiitake mushroom, celery, ginger, tomatoes and spring onions. Add 1 tablespoon light soy sauce, 1 teaspoon sesame oil, 2 tablespoon Chinese cooking wine, some salt and white pepper. Steam for 20 minutes. Garnish with chopped spring onions and coriander leaves.

Honestly, I have never cooked lunch and dinner for 4 days in a row! I have never cooked any of these dishes before. There are similarities in some dishes but with some variations. Mum love to watch me cook. It amazes her that I choose which sauces to add at the time of cooking. I made my dishes along the way based on what I think mum and sis will like to eat. Nothing spicy with chili and no curry. Mum has a dietary condition which limit her ability to eat spicy food. I log all the dishes I am cooking for her during her visit, for me to remember in the future.

I hope you enjoy trailing my food journey specially cooked for my mum, as much as she is sampling each and every dish that I am making for her. This is truly something I will cherish for a lifetime, and there are 2 more days to go.

11 responses to ““What’s cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. You always put very nice food pictures in your blog. They make me feel so hungry. I enjoy reading your food journey, it’ so amazing.

  2. Hi Victor, It’s lovely reading about the dishes that your have been cooking for your mum and sister. Feel as if I am visiting as well… Happy Birthday for tomorrow!

  3. Happy, happy birthday for today Victor. It will be lovely for you to celebrate along with mum and sis this year. I hope you have something very special planned.

    • Rita – thanks. Birthday is like any normal day to me. I rarely celebrate. But nice to have mum and sis with me at home with a cake. 🙂

  4. Victor, wow you’ve been busy the last week! The chicken stir fry looks delicious what a lucky Mum and sister.
    Happy Birthday for today! Hope you had a wonderful day with your family.

  5. Happy Birthday, Victor, many happy returns of the day. The noodles and dinner look delicious and day out at the botanical garden sounds heavenly. I spent Sunday gone the same way. What is it about gardens that are so calming and good for the soul? Have a terrific day.

  6. P/S Hope your mom and sis don’t find it too cold over there.

  7. Emily – thanks for the well wishes.

    Oh, yes. My mum finds it very cold here. And, it is. Between 5 – 12 degree C! But in 2 days, she will be back in the nice, hot, humid tropical Penang weather. So will I. 🙂

Leave a Reply

