“What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

Mushroom, mushroom, mushroom. It’s all about mushroom. The texture and beautiful flavour.

Mushrooms with oyster sauce. This is terribly simple to cook, delicious and healthy to eat. Best of all – less than 10 minutes to prepare and cook! You must try this recipe this weekend.

Looks great, isn’t it? It is really very simple to cook. But, don’t overcook the mushrooms.

All you need is a variety of mushrooms. I used two of my favourite mushrooms – fresh shiitake and oyster mushrooms, and button mushrooms. One fresh red chili, three cloves garlic, a bit of corn starch mixed in half a cup of chicken stock. Use either chicken stock granule if you don’t have fresh homemade chicken stock reserved in your fridge.

I used my own homemade chicken stock that I cooked on a previous night, called “Drunken Chicken”. If you watched Australia’s MasterChef, Gary Mehigan and George Calombaris‘s chose Alvin’s dish as their favourite dish in last season show – Alvin’s Drunken Chicken recipe. I usually cooked my drunken chicken by “steaming”. So I decided to try “poaching” as suggested by Alvin. I used less chinese cooking wine. No palm sugar since Mirin is a sweet Japanese cooking wine. I plated my drunken chicken with a bowl of fragrant saffron rice and some chinese cabbage leaves blanched in drunken chicken stock, and a dipping soy chili sauce.

I digressed a bit.

Back to my 10 minutes mushroom stir-fry.

Heat a bit of vegetable cooking oil in a hot wok at medium to high heat. Toss in the garlic and chili. Fry until fragrant. Then toss in the mushrooms, and add 2-3 tablespoon oyster sauce. Stir and mix through. Add chicken stock mixed with a bit of starch. Cracked some black peppercorn.

The dish should be ready in under 10 minutes.

Enjoy this simple, beautiful and healthy dish this weekend!

5 responses to ““What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. One of my favorite dishes is mushroom and this one looks yummy.

  2. Hey Victor – great article about you and your house in today’s Sunday Tasmanian! Love your work!!

  3. Waiiiiiiiiiiiiii

    Hey – thanx for the tip re your 2 mushroom makan – I used it with some chicken (thigh fillets for me, yukky breast fillets for Ah PJ hehe) … marinated the chook in Shao Shing wine and salt – then flash fried it with the spring onion until cooked. Reserve and then heated up some black sesame oil, throw in the garlic, chilli (for me), then the 2 mushroom types, then the cooked chicken and finally the stock with cornflour – cover and simmer for 2 minutes – MMMMMMMMMM sedap dan lazat! (HO SIK LAH! hehe)

    PJ very impressed 🙂

Leave a Reply

