“What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

Chili Jam Chicken

Tonight’s dinner is Chili Jam Chicken with roasted cashew nuts and basil leaves.

This is a Thai dish and readily available in most Thai restaurant menu. It is extremely delicious and tasty. It is sweet, salty and a bit spicy. I love this dish and frequently make this for us. It is almost addictive because of the sweetness and saltiness of the dish. It is aromatic with the basil leaves, and a bit nutty with the roasted cashew nuts.

Adjust the sweetness, saltiness and spiciness to suit your own taste by adjusting the amount of palm sugar, fish sauce and chili to add into the dish.

First, the caramalised chili jam.

To prepare this:

1. Chop 1 red capsicum, 1 red onion, 3 cloves garlic and 2 fresh red chilies

2. Mix all ingredients in a food processor

3. Blend the ingredients until smooth

4. Mix a 1 1/2 cup of water with a a pinch of tamarind pulp to extract the juice.

5. Heat a saucepan with some oil.

6. Add the mixed ingredients and simmer gently.

7. Add 4 tablespoons palm sugar. Stir until sugar is melted into the paste.

8. Add tamarind juice. Continue to simmer until the paste thickens and has a rich, glossy caramalised look.

9. Set aside to be used later.

Next, cooking.

1. Heat some oil in a hot wok.

2. Toss in about 8 white sections of spring onion. Give them a quick stir fry until fragrant.

3. Add chicken. Stir fry until almost cooked. Add 3 tablespoons of fish sauce. Continue to stir fry until chicken is cooked.

4. Add 5 tablespoons of chili jam.

5. Add some beans and diced red capsicum. Continue to stir fry.

6. Add roasted cashew nuts and a bunch of basil leaves.

7. Continue to stir fry for another minute or two.

Serve with steamed rice.

8 responses to ““What’s Cooking” in Victor’s Kitchen

  1. Looks so yummy… Just the other day I cooked a similar dish:-).

  2. Hi Victor

    How are you? Heard the good news, congratulations! Looking spick and span in your tie there. I’m happy for you.

    I haven’t dropped by your blog in ages. Went to Montpellier and Copenhagen for a 3-week holiday. The weather was great.

    As usual, great food and commentaries on your blog. I will be back! 🙂

    • Hi Emily – I am well. Thanks. Just this morning on the way to work, I was saying to my partner that life is beautiful. Not sure why. The weather was awful. Turns wintery again and very wet. Then in mid-afternoon, the Executive Manager in my area told the team that he is finished! Did he resign? Or, was he sacked? We don’t know and he won’t say. It was a shocked to the team. And, I am only there 5 days!

      I always live to travel around Europe, but it is so expensive. So stick to Asia for now.

      Glad you are still popping in once in a while to say hello. I am not that regular in updating my blog. Only when I have something interesting to share.

      Cheers!
      Victor

      • Victor, I do agree with you, life’s beautiful. The weather here is not exactly summery, it’s cloudy and windy and rainy, typical British weather. Blows hot and cold. Temperamental.

        It is expensive in Europe. The £ is very weak at the moment. I need to save up for another year before planning another holiday! Like you, I enjoy walking and walked a lot in Montpellier and Copenhagen. Montpellier is a nice town and I can see more on foot! My landlord suggested I took the tram to get to the town centre but in the end, I walked – took me 1&1/2 hours from our rented house to the city centre.

        Oh no, things do happen at work but I hope your job is secure.

        Your blog is never dull, always interesting!

        Take care, Emily

        • Thanks, Emily. I am glad you are still checking on me. One day when I have more money or when I retire, i would really love to travel around Europe.

  3. Victor I have to try this, one of my favorite dishes also.

  4. Hi Seeharhed and Nye – we share quite similar cross culture between our countries, eh? But, this is really Thai as you know, or is it Laos? 🙂 Then I love Thai and Vietnamese food, almost on par with Malaysian.

  5. Pingback: In My Kitchen – Chili Jam Chicken | Welcome to I-Destination

Leave a Reply

