“Pho 2”

I like to thank Salalao, Peter and Dillon for their comments on my last post on making pho. I have my second attempt yesterday. This time with Ox Tail and grilled the bones, onions, ginger and garlic for that extra strong flavour in my pho stock. The results, a much stronger and delicate flavour. Love it.

This is the first time I have ever cooked Ox Tail. It is fatty, but tender and has a lovely sweet flavour.

I have collected a few clay pots when I lived in Sydney. Different sizes, some glazed on the inside and outside like this one which I used to cook my pho stock yesterday.

I have decided to slow cooked using the clay pot.

In the clay pot, I added enough water to cover all the ingredients.

1. Grilled ox tail, onions, garlic and ginger.

2. Pan toasted 2 teaspoons coriander seeds and 1 teaspoon fennel seeds.

3. 2 cinnamon sticks, 6 cardamom pods, 4 star anises, 4 cloves, 3 dates, 1 tablespoon goji berry.

4. 6 tablespoons fish sauce and 2 tablespoons brown sugar.

Once the stock is bubbling, I turn down the heat and simmer for 5-6 hours. Let it sit overnight, then remove all the ingredients, and remove the extra layer of fatty oil floating on the top surface.

I deboned the ox tail and in a blender, blended the meat with the onions, garlic and ginger. I am not sure what I am going to do with the blended ingredients. Most likely, wrap in wonton skin and either poached or deep fried.

I just had a pho beef for my Sunday morning breakfast, with coriander leaves, mint leaves and shredded lettuces, a bit of bird eye chili with light soy sauce, and Hoi Sin sauce. Absolutely divine.

12 responses to ““Pho 2”

  1. Totally delicious Victor! Wish you were here selling at the markets – I’d pay 12 dollars for a bowl right now! Really lovely photos too.
    xx

  2. This is the ultimate comfort food. Similar to this recipe, I toast most of the ingredients to summon all of those wonderful flavors and add depth. I’ve never thought to add goji berries. I’ll have to try that in the future.

    • Hi Christie – thanks. Any tips on how to use the by-product of ox tail?

      Btw, I have a little goji berry plant in a small pot. It’s coming to Spring here, and leaves are starting to show. I hope I can grow the plant and have some fresh goji berries.

  3. Looks yummy, you should have your own restaurant.

  4. It looks great- are you still planning a cooking class?!

  5. Victor,
    That’s looks really yummy. I’ll take a large bowl of that and icecoffe please 🙂

  6. Victor, this looks real good. I put cinnamon sticks in my pho stock also, no fish sauce though and substitute it with black soy sauce instead. I see you like mint, I like basil on mine and chili peppers. 🙂

  7. Victor – Looks so yummy.

Leave a Reply

