I Saved The Pork

We were on our way home from work this evening. My partner said to me that his pork sandwich was horrible. He made two sandwiches last night from leftover oven roast pork.

Let me take you back two days ago, on a Sunday evening.

My partner went to a local supermarket to do some grocery. He came home with a prepacked pork labelled as Chinese style barbeque pork.  He was actually excited at the prospect of having “Char Siew” (aka Chinese barbeque pork) bought from a supermarket. The pork was baked in the oven. We ate few slices with some vegetables. The verdict. Extremely….disappointed! There is no slightest resemblance in flavour of Char Siew. I do not understand why food establishment will sell or attempt to sell food of another culture and unashamedly display it. It does no justice on the authenticity of the food from the origin.

Another example is a recent advertisement in a local newspaper that read “Malaysia Curry” at a local restaurant. I am a Malaysian. There is no one style of Malaysia curry. The misuse of a country name to sell a dish is demeaning and treating a customer like a fool. Even so, if the customer has never travel or been to Malaysia, and do not understand the food and culture. Treating the customer like a fool and misrepresenting a true Malaysian food, for own cheap publicity gain because Malaysia is the “in thing” – made popular by recent TV food and travel programs like “Poh’s Kitchen” and “Rick Stein”. It annoys me when we treat people as a fool just because they have never travel or been to another country. And, falsely advertise the food as coming from that country, with little understanding of the food and culture. You don’t sell the food by simply calling it after a country name. It is like I try and sell an “Australia Burger” or “Australia Barbeque Pork” in Malaysia.

Back to today’s time. On the way home, my partner said we should throw the rest of the oven roast pork.  I said no. Even though it is tasteless and bland, I can make something out of it for tonight’s dinner. And, I did. I saved the pork. I turned the leftover pork into small slices and stir fried with black beans and vegetables.

I don’t believe in throwing food away. There is always a way of salvaging the scrap and turn into something interesting.

I use a tablespoon of black beans. Soak in water and rinse a few times.

Chop 4 cloves garlic, 2 red chillies and sliced 3 spring onions into 3-inch section.

Chop 1 carrots, a bunch of broccollini, 1 red capsicum and 5 cabbage leaves into bite pieces.

Soak 4 dried shiitake mushrooms, then slice thinly.

In a hot wok, heat some vegetable oil.

Toss in chopped garlic and mashed black beans. Fry until fragrant. Then add pork, follow by vegetables. Continue to stir fry.

Add 2 tablespoon oyster sauce, 3 tablespoon black vinegar and 2 tablespoon Chinese cooking wine.

Add chillies and spring onion, a pinch of sugar and cracked black pepper.

Add a teaspoon of corn starch mixed in 2 tablespoon water.

The verdict. Very tasty. The pork is saved. Better still. Enough for my lunch box tomorrow.

6 responses to “I Saved The Pork

  1. Good for you Victor! I’m with you – I HATE throwing out good food, and try to think laterally about what use I can still make of it rather than simply do the lazy thing and throw it away. Naturally I have had some most spectacular failures, but also some wins, just like you yesterday with your pork dish!

  2. That looks excellent Victor…sometimes we fail to be inspired by the remains of some roast in our fridge- but Nigella (our dog) always benefits from that- she loves leftovers!

  3. Sounds totally delicious, as usual, Victor. I think often the most creative and tasty meals can be made from leftovers in the fridge.

    I wish I knew how to use black beans, perhaps you could do a post on what brand and how to use them (if you don’t do a shopping & cooking class!)

  4. Rita – glad you are the same. We can be quite a team together. 😉

    Hazel – our Bonnie would eat anything on the kitchen floor! The problem is she has a poor digestive system. So we have to be careful not to feed her any of our food or leftover. Wish she can be like Nigella. Instead, I am usually the disposal unit of our household!

    Michelle – the brand I used is Double Rings Brand. It comes in a packet. Pure salted black beans. I think I got mine at Chinese Emporium. But, I am certain you can buy it at Wing & Co as well. I like to soak them and then rinse a few times to get rid of the saltiness. Then use the flat part of a spoon and roughly mash the black beans. Use more black bean in your dish if you like the strong smell and flavour. It goes well in most stir fry meat, seafood and noodle dishes with other sauces like oyster sauce. In Chinese cooking, you use few different sauces to create your own sauce for the dish.

    Btw, I never cooked a dish with black bean alone. It is too strong and overpowering, but combine with other sauces, it works beautifully.

  5. Victor, this looks delicious. The black beans that you are talking about there, are they the salty kind that comes in a jar? I find them to be too salty and was wondering if you could rinse before mixing it with stir-fly.

    • Nye, they come in a jar or in a packet. The one I used is in packet (without liquid) and salted. You will need to rinse the excess salt. Otherwise, like you say it will be too salty.

Leave a Reply

