Historic Battery Point

Welcome to Historic Battery Point – a compact historic village in inner city Hobart.

The signage at the beginning of Hampden Road – main street of the village, where you can find a good selection of restaurants and cafes along with some very nice early period homes and Georgian cottages.

One of the most popular bakery/cafe, Jackman & McRoss is located in this street. When I first arrived in Hobart, I was told to try their Lamb Shank Pie. 7 years later, they still sell their Lamb Shank Pie, and my favourite Goat and Lentil Pie. Jackman & McRoss is so popular that during my 7 years in Hobart, they have opened two other branches – one in the heart of Hobart CBD on Victoria Street catering to mostly business lunch crowd, and the other in New Town – a northern suburb, 10 minutes drive from Hobart CBD. There is an award winning fine dining restaurant at Hampden Road, Piccalilly. Not to miss if you are visiting Hobart and looking for a very good restaurant.

This afternoon I decided to take a leisure walk in Battery Point, directly across my office. It was a cold day with a temperature of 12 degree Celsius and a bit overcast. I crossed the busy (well, for Hobart standard) Sandy Bay Road. Walked towards Hampden Road. The street was quiet with the occasional cars passing through. The first stop on my left is a historic Georgian mansion built over the period 1833 – 1836 by sea captain Andrew Haig. It is a heritage museum now, which is opened to the public. The museum has a wonderful collection of 19th century colonial portraits and landscape paintings, among other colonial treasures, furniture and household items.

I continued my walk down Hampden Road. Both sides of the road adorned with beautiful cottages, trees and gardens. At a far distance, I caught a glimpse of the Derwent River – a large deep seaport of Hobart. In recent times, there have been few sightings of whales migration.

I took a left turn into Arthur Circus. As I walked down the small narrow street, at the front I could see a lush green lawn. As I got closer to the end of the street, it opens up into a green public space. I stood there for a few minutes. There was a carer with a teenage boy on wheelchair. The carer helped him onto one of the swing in the middle of the circular garden. It was a nice feeling. Peaceful and quiet. There are, I think, 8-10 small historic cottages around the circle.

I walked across the centre of the circular park towards the other end of the street, walked down Runnymede Street towards the Sullivan’s Cove. On my right, almost towards the end of the street, is the historic and magnificent The Lenna Hotel, built in 1874. There is a beautiful, fine dining restaurant, Alexanders. I ate there once with my partner when we first came to Hobart. I can still remember the interior, with soft lighting and warm colour. A romantic place with candle light dinner on a special night.

As I descended down Runnymede Street, I came to the climax of my leisure walk. It is like coming to an end of a huge theatrical production with the curtain finally being drawn to reveal the biggest star of the show. It is the star attraction of Hobart – the number one attraction, the art, culture and entertainment scene of Hobart. It is the historic Salamanca Place fronting the Sullivan’s Cove – where the annual Taste of Tasmania is staged, and the weekly Saturday Salamanca Market. The surrounding view is breathtaking, with the majestic Mt Wellington in the backdrop, and Derwent River in the front.

Across Salamanca Place is the Antarctic mutipurpose research ship and its unmistakenly bright orange hue – Aurora Australis under the command of Australia Antarctic Division, with its scientific research HQ based in Kingston – south of Hobart city.

By this time, my hands and face were getting very cold. I decided to walk back to my office, and walked up the historic Kelly’s Step towards Battery Point. Kelly’s Step was built in 1839 by the adventurer James Kelly to connect Salamanca Place with Battery Point. There was a sign pointing towards a flight of steps. A narrow stone laneway with sandstone walls on both sides of the foot path leading up the stairs. On top of the steps is Kelly Street, which leads back to Hampden Road, next to Jackman & McRoss.

As I reached the end of Kelly Street, I turned right into Hampden Road. I was about to walk back to my office, when I thought I should make another stop. I crossed to the other side of the road and turned left into DeWitt Street. The next street on the left is Cromwell Street, where one of the earliest anglican church is sited. It is a large and beautiful sandstone building of neoclassical style, built during the periods of 1836 – 1838 – the St George’s Anglican Church. Now I was ready to walk back to my office. This is my lunch trail around the historic Battery Point and Salamanca Place. There are more to share – the food and art galleries dotted around this beautiful part of Hobart city.

4 responses to “Historic Battery Point

  1. Thanks for taking us along on your walk Victor. Jackman’s goat and lentil pie is a fav of mine too, we often pick up take away if the weather is nice and eat it in the tiny park behind St Georges on De Witt street.

  2. Victor, it looks like you work in a nice part of town, I wouldn’t mind taking a leisure walk during my lunch hour also. Do you get an hour for lunch or longer?

    • Hi Nye – depends on where you work. But so far both companies that I have worked for in Hobart are pretty good with their flexi hours at work. Tasmania is a good place to work, unlike the bigger city like Sydney, which I am constantly conscious of what time I get in or leave or time for lunch. I think it is the overall work culture in bigger cities, which is stress build-up from top down. But, in Tasmania the work culture is better for balancing work and private life. So if it is a beautiful day and I am not on a deadline to deliver, I will go for a nice long walk to soak in the beautiful sunshine and fresh air. 🙂

Leave a Reply

