Penang

It is nice to be away, but also nice to come back. I guess I am no different from everyone else who likes to travel. Before I arrived back in Melbourne, I was a bit concern that I was going to miss Penang. But, I guess I was not, and that it is nice to be back in Melbourne. Both places are unique and special.

I guess over time, I will start to miss Penang again for its food, the changing faces of George Town – street arts, heritage and architecture, boutique shops and accommodations, and most importantly the living culture and festivities of the place which makes Penang such a wonderful and special place to visit and to live. Here in this post, I highlights some of the things I have done, seen and visited from my last trip.

The culture…the Chinese Clan Houses,…”The Leong San Tong Khoo Kongsi”

20120902-194130.jpg
The temples,…”The Kuan Yin Temple”

20120902-194531.jpg
The Chinese Clan Jetty,…Looking towards the other clan jetties from the “The Lim Jetty”

20120902-194956.jpg
The fishing villages,…Pulau Betong Fishing Village near Balik Pulau

20120902-195356.jpg
The hair saloon,…One of the last remaining all women hair saloon for men at Chulia Street.

20120902-200346.jpg
And, the Indian barber.

20120902-200608.jpg
The wet market,…the heritage listed “Campbell Street Wet Market”

20120902-201027.jpg
Little India in the heart of George Town.

20120902-201538.jpg

20120902-201722.jpg

20120902-202002.jpg

20120902-202216.jpg

In the next posts, I will feature the food, the beach, the street arts and increasing popularity of heritage boutique accommodations in Penang captured from my last trip.

4 responses to “Penang

  1. I look forward to the next post as I will be in Penang in 2 weeks. Sadly only there for one night, but I can’t wait!

    • Hi Bri, thanks. One night in Penang is not enough. Hopefully you are staying in the heart of George Town for the best cultural and food experience. Then, go back for for a longer visit. 🙂

      • Staying at Hotel Penaga which seems to be pretty central (I hope!)
        I wish I could stay longer but it’s the way that things worked out for this trip. Not enough time to do much but eat – and I plan to be doing lots of that! 🙂
        Next time I will stay longer for sure.

        • Bri, That is within walking distance to most places – walking tour along Muntri St, Love Lane, Little India, Armanien St. and so much more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

