Rockling Rice Congee Morning Breakfast

I channel my worry and stress each week by walking, swimming and soaking myself in the hot spa and sauna. And, in the weekend finding things to do. Go out. See things. Experience the surroundings. It is not worth thinking about work after work. Life is too short for that.

This morning I woke up at 7 am. Went to the gym downstairs for a 20 minutes workout on the treadmill, followed by 14 laps in the 25 metre pool, 10 minutes in the hot spa and 10 minutes in the sauna.  Do I think about my work? Not a minute.

Back in my apartment feeling refreshed and rejuvenated, I decided to make myself a pot of rice congee with the leftover fresh rockling fillets (also known as Ling fillet, Pink Ling) that my partner bought yesterday at the Vic market. It is quite cheap to shop at the Vic market. There were 2 big pieces  of fish for $15. He was making beer battered fish for us last night. He had some leftover which I kept in the fridge. I was quite impressed with his beer battered fish. It was crisp and crunchy. Not bad for a first time.

I have written another post on a rice congee or “porridge” a few years ago. It is quite simple to cook the congee. Main ingredient is rice and lots of water to rapidly boil and then simmer at low heat until the rice breaks down and water reduce by half.

I used what I can find in my fridge for my fish congee.

Ingredients:

1. Fish – must be firm

2. 1 ginger smashed

3. 1 spring onion chopped finely

4. 2-3 stems of coriander with leaves chopped finely

5. A tablespoon of chinese preserved mustard green rinsed and finely chopped

6. 2-3 oyster mushrooms and small bunch of enoki mushroom

7. 1 cup of rice

Cooking:

1. Boil the rice rapidly in a pot of water for 5 – 10 minutes. Stir the bottom to make sure none of the rice is sticking to the base of the pot.

2. Lower the heat to simmer. Add the crushed ginger knobs. Simmer for 20 minutes or until the water has evaporated by almost a third. Add the fish and continue to simmer for 10 minutes.

3. Add the rest of the ingredients – mushrooms, chinese mustard and some of the chopped coriander and spring onion. Continue to simmer for another 10 minutes.

5. Add fried garlic (optional) and seasoning (adjust to taste).

Seasoning – light soy sauce (1-2 teaspoons), sesame oil (1 teaspoon), ground white pepper (1 teaspoon), sea salt (1/2 – 1 teaspoon)

Serve in a small bowl and a pot of green tea. This makes a nice change from my regular breakfast of peanut butter and strawberry jam toasts, or poached eggs and red beans.

 

One response to “Rockling Rice Congee Morning Breakfast

  1. I love congee after a good workout. Yum!

Leave a Reply

