Pineapple Prawns

I was wondering what I should do with the whole fresh pineapple I bought from the market yesterday. I ate some last night after dinner. It was sweet, juicy and refreshing. I ate more this evening after I came back from work. I still had some to go and thought maybe I should try cooking with the prawns I had thawed this morning. I didn’t have much fresh produce left in my fridge – some cherry tomatoes and a packet of fresh sugar snaps.

I thought maybe I should do a quick, simple stir fry with the prawns, tomatoes, sugar snaps and pineapple in a garlicky oyster and fish sauce infused with a couple of fragrant kaffir lime leaves and bird eye chilli.

P1080465

Ingredients:

  • 3 chopped garlic cloves
  • 1/2 finely diced red onion
  • 3 finely sliced kaffir lime leaves
  • 1 chopped bird eye chilli
  • a packet of sugar snaps
  • 8 tiger prawns
  • 8 cherry tomatoes

Sauce:

  • l tablespoon fish sauce
  • 1 tablespoon oyster sauce
  • a pinch of salt and sugar

Cooking:

  • Heat 1 tablespoon cooking oil in a hot wok
  • Toss in the prawns. Give it a quick stir fry until cooked. Remove and set aside
  • Add more oil about 1 tablespoon in the wok
  • Toss in chopped garlic and red onion. GIve it a quick stir fry until fragrant
  • Add chopped chilli and kaffir lime leaves, follow by sugar snaps. Stir fry for 2-3 minutes, then add the cooked prawns, tomatoes and pineapples. Stir fry for another 2-3 minutes
  • Add the sauces and season to taste

P1080472Serve with a bowl of steamed jasmine rice.

Visually this dish worked for me with a mixture of vibrant red, green and yellow. Flavour wise is interesting if you like pineapple in your dish. However, after I thought over, it will work better if I have make this into a curry dish in a red curry paste.

One response to “Pineapple Prawns

  1. Nice and fresh looking!

Leave a Reply

