Space of Time

In a space of time of a few months, many things can happened. There is no stillness in a moment. There is a constant movement – why? Is it because of the gravity and the constant spinning of the Globe? There is the ousted of our first female PM of Australia – Julia Gillard, to the man that she ousted 3 years ago, Mr Kevin Rudd, who happily said he will not contest for the PM position again less than a year ago. And, now he is back in! It’s hard to keep up with the Australian labour party, which is like a revolving door.

This is no difference from the corporate world with companies slashing staffs like the ANZ and IBM, shutdown of businesses and insolvency of retailers. Staff morale is at their lowest. There is no security as it used to be when I was in my twenties and thirties two decades ago. This is the new world where management has less of a human touch and compassion for their staff. It’s looking after the shareholders and profitability of the organisation. My company is no exception. Since I have been in my company, I have seen more people leaving than I have ever worked in any company in my entire work life! The latest colleague who has left my company was my manager, who has been most supportive of my work.

There is work and there is life. In the past 4 months since I last wrote my post, I have celebrated my partner’s forty-seventh birthday and my fifty-secondth birthday. Of course, everyone still thinks I have my thirtieth youthful look.

I have less time to write a post. So, I have turn to capture My “Instagram” Moment of an everyday life in “Instagram” with my iPhone. You can see my latest six photos on Instagram on the right of my blog page. I have been busy at work, and busy keeping myself healthy and fit by going to the gym and pool four to five times a week! I have been doing more cooking in my tiny kitchen. I have found a new Asian supermarket called The Little Saigon in Footscray that I shop for my fresh produce each weekend.

Forget about work for a moment, life is good and food is a tonic to me. And, tonight I have cooked a hot and sour fish curry. This afternoon I have bought almost two kilo of King Fish Head. It was cheap at $8.90 a kilo. The good thing about shopping at Footscray or other Asian ethnic supermarkets in the suburb is that I can asked the butcher or fishmonger to cut the meat or seafood to save me from doing it when I get home.P1120389The ingredients I used for the fish curry – lemongrass, red onions, garlic, dried chillies, fresh red chillies, turmeric powder, “belachan” (Malaysian shrimp paste – toasted), tamarind pulp + water, tomatoes, okra (“lady finger”), kaffir lime leafs (optional).P1120394To make the spice paste, blend the ingredients – chopped lemongrass, chillies, garlic, onions, turmeric and belachan.

To cook – heat half a cup of vegetable oil in a hot saucepan or wok. Toss in the spice paste. Fry until fragrant.

Add the tamarind juice. Let simmer for 5 – 10 minutes. Then add the fish, tomatoes and lady fingers. Cover with a lid and simmer until fish is cooked. Add 1 teaspoon salt and 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar. P1120405Serve with steamed rice.P1120416

Leave a Reply

